Social Media For Elementary

This past week I have been tasked with locating and curating examples of teaching strategies at the elementary level that use social media. I chose social media at the elementary level because I teach K-4 technology at an elementary school in Washington School. Being fairly new to social media in education, I was intrigued to see how people have successfully used social media for little kids. With my new interest in Twitter and my desire to begin blogging with my students, I specifically looked and curated those areas of social media. What I discovered through my curation is that virtually all the teachers that have used social media in their classes have signaled that student engagement and motivation for learning has increased dramatically. In addition, many of the teachers have also expressed how student achievement has also improved.

Through this process of curation and reflection, I have decided their are two things I must begin in my technology classes. First, I need to use twitter. I need to give my students an authentic experience with writing and sharing to the world. Hopefully we can connect and network with other students, bloggers, and authors. Second, I have been thinking about wanting my students to begin blogging their new learning. I had not decided on which blogging platform to use, but after reading several success stories about KidBlog, I have decided to try them out. The one thing about Kidblog that is really helpful for me as a teacher is that I will be able to create a digital portfolio within Kidblog for my students.

I really enjoyed this assignment. Mainly, I enjoyed the authenticity of the assignment – real life examples of strategies and techniques for social media in elementary. Through these examples, I have the courage and knowledge to begin implementing some of these ideas in my classroom. First, Join Kidblog and second, create a classroom twitter handle! To see my curation on Social Media for Elementary, click here.

Leave a comment

Filed under AECT Standards

Leave a Reply

